top of page

The Uninvited

It was on a humid, yet hot tranquil night about two nights ago when I was trying to connect with my spirit guide. One who protects and guards you through this life. Warm, gentle, and full of light. Possibly an ancestor or a guardian angel of some sort. I even asked if possibly, through my dreams we could converse. I desired to know more about this life. About what’s in store for me, and the many reasons as to why things are happening.

I shut my eyes and allowed the drowsiness to carry me through my deep sleep.

I dreamt about our old house, my childhood home. It was a two-story house somewhere in Project 2, Quezon City. A simple, cozy house in the early 90s. It was already late that night and I just finished locking the gate of our yard. In our house, there was a shaman of some sort, though he really didn’t look like one. He dressed normally in a blue and grey chequered button-down shirt and a pair of trousers. He looked very casual and not a stereotype voodoo thing you’d think of. He was doing some sort of cleansing in the house and I volunteered to assist. While we were doing the activity, I saw a woman sitting on the couch, by the window. The woman was wearing a full white Victorian dress. She looked beautiful and had a silky black hair, cut down to her shoulders. She looked somewhat familiar but I couldn’t remember who. The woman happens to be medium who’s supposed to help me with something. Some sort of figuring something out, but at that moment, the purpose was unclear. I couldn’t quite remember what for. Then she covered her head with a white cloth and channelled, trying to connect with a spirit.

I just left her be continued on with what I was doing. The next time a glanced at her, she removed the white cloth from her head, and what I saw really terrified me. Her face was changed…

She now has deep narrow, yellow eyes. The pupils were small, jet black, and sharp. She was grinning so wide and it didn't look like any warm, nice spirit at all. She looked like a demon and it scared the crap out of me!

It caught me off guard so I got really backed off towards the sofa behind me. Then suddenly, a figure appeared

on an empty couch near her, next to the door leading outside to our yard. It was wearing a full white cloak, the same as the medium’s. It had very long hair which extends to its legs. Whatever it was, it looked bizarre due to its disproportionate body. It was thin and had very long limbs – both arms and legs. I couldn't see its face because of its thick black hair. The medium walked towards it and guided being. When the being stood up, it was very tall, like seven to eight feet in height. Even the way it stood up was peculiar - too reserved but very slow. They were then coming to me very slowly. My whole body went numb as I watched them walk closer. They are supposed to do some ritual with me which I still couldn't remember what for. I thought, it was not supposed to be this way. They weren’t the ones I was expecting to see! I was so terrified that I stood petrified, unable to move. With all my might, I gathered all my strength and did my best to ward them off.

They understood my fear, and with some subtle laugh, they went away. In just a few seconds, there were gone. However, it still didn’t felt right. I know it wasn’t over and I could still feel the presence. A few moments later, I felt the tall creature's hand at the back of my neck, touching my nape very gently and slowly. The fingers were thin and short. The hand… it was so soft. The size of the hand was that of a petite teenager’s which was very odd because it had very long arms. Its hand was so cold... literally ice cold.

I woke up in fear and couldn't get back to sleep after that.

Funny, I wanted to see an angel, but I invited something else. Whatever it was, I’m not ready to know.

The illustrations included in the piece are my rough sketches of how I remember the woman (entitled The Medium) and the tall being (entitled The Ancestor).

- Gerard “Sannin” Salimpade

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page